CXLVIII - NHL BOG approves sale and relocation of Coyotes to Ryan Smith, league announces establishment of franchise in Utah

TheGreenTBer

shut off the power while I take a big shit
Apr 30, 2021
I'm not a scholar but I was a practising lawyer for over 40 years and I retired with my sense of humour intact...
I have no experience or training in the legal system but I would argue that it's even harder to practice law with no sense of humor, otherwise the emotions might eat you.

Reactions: Summer Rose

Stumbledore

Jan 1, 2018
Canada
I have no experience or training in the legal system but I would argue that it's even harder to practice law with no sense of humor, otherwise the emotions might eat you.
Perhaps. I was a "papers and documents" guy, mostly just estates, trusts, wills, etc. Not a lot of drama. (Probate is nowhere near as exciting as that TV-staple scene where you gather the family in your office and read the contents of the will. Which never happened for me.)

The reason I got into this thread in the first place -- back when it took only one or two Roman numerals to name it -- was because of Baum's bankruptcy hearings and while I enjoyed the judge's rulings and turns of phrase, I hung around for the denouement.

Who knew it would take another 20 years or so.

Reactions: Llama19

aqib

Feb 13, 2012
I can't speak for Kev or what the thought was behind the wide radii, but it may be more of an indicator of secondary market fans? Fans who don't live within the 50mi radius from a team's city limits (a team's market area), but could be a fan of either. To use an example on the map, Cleveland. That's a city that falls within both Detroit's and Columbus' secondary area, and a hockey fan there is just as likely to drive the ~140 miles to Nationwide as it would be to drive the ~170 miles to Little Caesars.

I could, and very likely am, way off base as to what was intended... but that's really the only thing I can come up with when I thought about it.